World of Warcraft: Forever · Level 30
WoW Forever Mage Level 30 Guide: Leveling 21–30
WoW Forever Mage leveling 21–30: Counterspell arrives at 24, Cone of Cold at 26, and Conjure Mana Agate at 28. Ice Armor is reported at 30.
Fansite snapshot 1.60.1.70124

© Blizzard Entertainment. Official Forever class and race artwork.
1. Plan the next ten levels
Blizzard's October 1 development notes confirm that the beta was updated with a level-30 cap. The class timeline below retains its separate 70124 snapshot; later official corrections are called out in the class notes.
Talents start at 10. Spending 15 points in one tree opens row 4; spending 20 opens row 5. Blizzard confirms the 16- and 21-point milestones. Splitting points between trees can delay these unlocks.
2. Mage from 21 to 30
Fansite report · Build 1.60.1.70124 · Abilities include talent-dependent entries. Check the trainer and your chosen talents in the updated client.
Mage level 30
9 ability entries · 23 rank upgrades · 3 talent trees
Your progression
The road to level 30
Every reported unlock, at the level it arrives.
Fansite report · Build 1.60.1.70124. “Not shown” means the tooltip omits a value; trainer prices are not reported. Talent abilities depend on your allocation.
Level 21
Talent pointNo new skill listed. One more talent point.
Level 22
2 new abilities
New ability
Frost Ward
Reported changeAbsorbs up to 162 Frost damage for 30 sec.
- Resource cost
- 85 Mana
- Cooldown
- 30 sec cooldown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

New ability
Scorch
Reported changeDeals 35–43 Fire damage.
- Resource cost
- 50 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- 1.5 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported
Rank upgrades 3
Arcane ExplosionR2 · 120 Mana
Conjure FoodR3 · 180 Mana
Fire BlastR3 · 115 Mana
Rank 2 upgrade
Arcane Explosion
- Resource cost
- 120 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 3 upgrade
Conjure Food
- Resource cost
- 180 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- 3 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 3 upgrade
Fire Blast
- Resource cost
- 115 Mana
- Cooldown
- 8 sec cooldown
- Range
- 20 yd range
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported
Level 23
Talent pointNo new skill listed. One more talent point.
Level 24
1 new ability
New ability
Counterspell
Interrupts a spell and locks that school for 10 sec, generating high threat.
- Resource cost
- 100 Mana
- Cooldown
- 30 sec cooldown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported
Rank upgrades 5
Arcane MissilesR3 · 235 Mana
Dampen MagicR2 · 200 Mana
FireballR5 · 140 Mana
FlamestrikeR2 · 330 Mana
PyroblastR2 · 150 Mana
Rank 3 upgrade
Arcane Missiles
- Resource cost
- 235 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- Channeled
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Dampen Magic
- Resource cost
- 200 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 5 upgrade
Fireball
- Resource cost
- 140 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 35 yd range
- Cast time
- 3.5 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Flamestrike
- Resource cost
- 330 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- 3 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Pyroblast
- Resource cost
- 150 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 35 yd range
- Cast time
- 6 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported
Level 25
Legacy milestoneLevel 26
1 new ability
New ability
Cone of Cold
Reported changeDeals 92–102 Frost damage in a frontal cone and slows by 40% for 6 sec.
- Resource cost
- 210 Mana
- Cooldown
- 10 sec cooldown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported
Rank upgrades 2
Frost NovaR2 · 85 Mana
FrostboltR5 · 100 Mana
Rank 2 upgrade
Frost Nova
- Resource cost
- 85 Mana
- Cooldown
- 25 sec cooldown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 5 upgrade
Frostbolt
- Resource cost
- 100 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- 3 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported
Level 27
Talent pointNo new skill listed. One more talent point.
Level 28
1 new ability
New ability
Conjure Mana Agate
Creates a consumable that immediately restores 375–425 mana and disappears after more than 15 min logged out.
- Resource cost
- 530 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- 3 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported
Rank upgrades 5
Arcane IntellectR3 · 520 Mana
BlizzardR2 · 520 Mana
Ice LanceR2 · 55 Mana
Mana ShieldR2 · 60 Mana
ScorchR2 · 65 Mana
Rank 3 upgrade
Arcane Intellect
- Resource cost
- 520 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Blizzard
- Resource cost
- 520 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- Channeled
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Ice Lance
- Resource cost
- 55 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Mana Shield
- Resource cost
- 60 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Scorch
- Resource cost
- 65 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- 1.5 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported
Level 29
Talent pointNo new skill listed. One more talent point.
Level 30
4 new abilities
New ability
Ice Armor
Adds 290 Armor and 6 Frost resistance for 30 min; attackers may be slowed by 30% with attack intervals increased by 25% for 5 sec.
- Resource cost
- 240 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

New ability
Teleport: Darnassus
Moves the caster to Darnassus.
- Resource cost
- 120 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- 10 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

New ability
Teleport: Thunder Bluff
Moves the caster to Thunder Bluff.
- Resource cost
- 120 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- 10 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

Talent ability
Blast Wave
Requires talentDeals 148–178 Fire damage around the caster and slows affected enemies by 50% for 6 sec.
- Resource cost
- 215 Mana
- Cooldown
- 45 sec cooldown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported
Rank upgrades 8
Amplify MagicR2 · 250 Mana
Arcane BlastR2 · 15% of base mana
Arcane ExplosionR3 · 185 Mana
Conjure WaterR4 · 285 Mana
Fire BlastR4 · 165 Mana
Fire WardR2 · 135 Mana
FireballR6 · 185 Mana
PyroblastR3 · 195 Mana
Rank 2 upgrade
Amplify Magic
- Resource cost
- 250 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Arcane Blast
- Resource cost
- 15% of base mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 30 yd range
- Cast time
- 2.5 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 3 upgrade
Arcane Explosion
- Resource cost
- 185 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 4 upgrade
Conjure Water
- Resource cost
- 285 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- 3 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 4 upgrade
Fire Blast
- Resource cost
- 165 Mana
- Cooldown
- 8 sec cooldown
- Range
- 20 yd range
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 2 upgrade
Fire Ward
- Resource cost
- 135 Mana
- Cooldown
- 30 sec cooldown
- Range
- Not shown
- Cast time
- Instant
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 6 upgrade
Fireball
- Resource cost
- 185 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 35 yd range
- Cast time
- 3.5 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported

Rank 3 upgrade
Pyroblast
- Resource cost
- 195 Mana
- Cooldown
- Not shown
- Range
- 35 yd range
- Cast time
- 6 sec cast
Trainer price: not reported
Trainer checklist & class notes
Counterspell arrives at 24, Cone of Cold at 26, and Conjure Mana Agate at 28. Ice Armor is reported at 30.
- Make trainer visits at 24 and 26 for
Counterspell and Cone of Cold. - Check Conjure Mana Agate at 28 and Ice Armor at 30.
- The report includes Teleport:
Darnassus and Teleport:
Thunder Bluff. Check the spell offered for your faction.
Mage talent milestones
These names and ranks come from the 70124 report. Row gates apply to points spent in each tree, and individual prerequisites still apply. This is a comparison of available choices, not a recommended allocation.
Arcane
Row 4 15 points spent
Arcane Shielding2 ranks
Improved Counterspell2 ranks
Arcane Meditation3 ranks
Missile Barrage1 rankReported new
Row 5 20 points spent
Presence of Mind1 rank
Arcane Mind5 ranks
Fire
Row 4 15 points spent
Improved Scorch3 ranks
Improved Fire Ward2 ranks
Hot Streak1 rankReported new
Master of Elements3 ranks
Row 5 20 points spent
Critical Mass3 ranks
Blast Wave1 rank
Frost
Row 4 15 points spent
Arctic Reach2 ranks
Ice Block1 rank
Shatter3 ranks
Row 5 20 points spent
Improved Cone of Cold3 ranks
Cold Snap1 rank
Fingers of Frost2 ranksReported new
Open the source talent calculator ↗ · Realm First calculator (older snapshot)
3. Dungeons in the 20–30 bracket
Classic-dungeon ranges come from Wowhead's Forever chart. Ranges describe a level band, not a guaranteed entrance minimum or full clear at 30. The bar stops at 30; faded sections extend beyond this guide. Blizzard opened Excavation Site: Wetlands on October 1 and City of Dalaran on October 8.
The October 1 notes also open Razorfen Downs at 25+ and Uldaman at 30+. Full Forever run guides and upper level bands for those two are not established here.
- Wailing CavernsClassic · Wowhead Forever range15–25
- The DeadminesClassic · Wowhead Forever range18–23
- Shadowfang KeepClassic · Wowhead Forever range22–30
- The StockadeClassic · Wowhead Forever range22–30
- Blackfathom DeepsClassic · Wowhead Forever range24–32
- Excavation Site: WetlandsBlizzard: available in the October 1 beta update26–31
- City of DalaranBlizzard: available for testing from October 828–33
- Scarlet Monastery: GraveyardClassic · Wowhead Forever range28–38
- GnomereganClassic · Wowhead Forever range29–38
- Scarlet Monastery: LibraryClassic · Wowhead Forever range29–39
- Razorfen KraulClassic · Wowhead Forever range30–40
4. Pick a faction route
The routes below are ForeverChanges' suggested paths using retained Classic quests. They are planning options; quest availability and completion speed have not been tested in Forever.
Alliance
- 20–22
Redridge MountainsBase: Lakeshire
- 22–24
WetlandsBase: Menethil Harbor
- 24–28
DuskwoodBase: Darkshire
- 28–30
AshenvaleBase: Astranaar
Horde
- 20–22
The BarrensBase: Camp Taurajo
- 22–24
Hillsbrad FoothillsBase: Tarren Mill
- 24–27
AshenvaleBase: Splintertree Post
- 27–30
Thousand NeedlesBase: Freewind Post
5. Legacy at level 25
Blizzard's Legacy explanation awards one point when each class first reaches 25 on your account. The first point unlocks Legacy. Nine different classes can therefore earn nine points at this milestone; duplicate characters of one class do not add another.
Points are account-wide for non-Hardcore characters, while each character chooses its own perks. Blizzard describes a 16-point spending cap at launch; this guide does not turn that into an independently tested beta limit.
Talented grants talent access up to five levels earlier. The fansite reports Well Rested 5/5 followed by Talented 5/5, costing ten Legacy points and giving up to 26 talent points at level 30. That can reach row 6 when 25 points are spent in the same tree. Check the prerequisites in the current client.
6. What still needs a beta check
- The official October 1 and October 8 updates do not reverify every ability in the older 70124 report. No numeric build is published with these update posts.
- Trainer availability, class quests, racial and faction restrictions, and talent prerequisites need an in-game check.
- The Hunter report lists Counterattack at 30 in its ability timeline but in row 4 of its talent tree. Blizzard confirms the 16-point milestone; first-rank trainer timing remains unverified.
- Blizzard confirms Excavation Site: Wetlands and City of Dalaran are available for beta testing. Entry rules, quest prerequisites and complete runs still need in-game checks; Darkspear Islands access is separate and unverified.
- There is no tested level-30 rotation, best build or complete gear ranking in these records. Level-20 gear pages retain their separate September snapshot.
Rather follow an in-game arrow? Compare the leveling addons for WoW Forever, free and paid.
Sources
- Blizzard EntertainmentBeta Update Maintenance — October 1
- Blizzard EntertainmentGet to Know the World of Warcraft: Forever Legacy System
- Blizzard EntertainmentOfficial dungeon level ranges
- Blizzard EntertainmentClass Deep Dives — Priest and Warrior
- Blizzard EntertainmentClass Deep Dives — Hunter and Druid
- Blizzard EntertainmentOctober 1 beta cap, dungeon and class update
- Blizzard EntertainmentOctober 8 beta update: Dalaran, class fixes and Legacy testing
- ForeverChanges — Fansite reportLevel-30 ability, rank and talent report
- Wowhead reportWowhead Forever dungeon level ranges and locations chart



